[DIV28SUPER] Division 6 awards: Call for nominations

Note from our colleague Ming Li
Dear Colleagues,
If you happen to be the member of APA Div. 6, please consider nominate your colleagues for these awards (see below). Please note the deadline is this Sunday, November 10.
Please send your nomination to me at mli@unl.edu.
Thank you,
Call for Nominations: APA Division 6 Awards
Behavioral Neuroscience and Comparative Psychology
Submission Deadline: November 10, 2013
Ming Li
Chair, Awards Committee 2013-2014
The APA Division 6 Awards provide the opportunity to publicly recognize colleagues whom you judge to have made substantial contributions to behavioral neuroscience or comparative psychology.  Your help is needed in identifying colleagues who merit public recognition for their accomplishments.  Awardees will be publicly recognized with a plaque at the Business Meeting of Division 6 at the 2014 APA Annual Convention (Aug. 7-10, 2014 in Washington, D.C.). Please send all nominations by November 10th to Ming Li via email (mli@unl.edu) or regular mail (Department of Psychology, University of Nebraska-Lincoln, NE 68588-0308, USA). In your nomination please include the name of your nominee, the award for which you are nominating them, and a brief statement of support (150-300 words).
The following Awards require nomination by a member of Division 6:
The D. O. Hebb Distinguished Scientific Contribution Award honors a psychologist who has made distinguished theoretical or empirical contributions to basic research in behavioral neuroscience and/or comparative psychology. The candidate does not have to be a member of Division 6, but is expected to present the D. O. Hebb Distinguished Scientific Contribution Award Lecture at the 2014 APA Convention. Recent recipients include Steven Suomi, Joseph LeDoux, Michela Gallagher, Terry Robinson, Ed Wasserman, Randy Gallistel, and Thomas Zentall.
The Brenda A. Milner Award recognizes the author of an outstanding paper in the field of behavioral neuroscience or comparative psychology. The nominee must be a member of Division 6 and within five years of having received their Ph.D. at the time of award nomination. The paper must be currently in press or have been published within the same five year window. The paper may be co-authored, but the applicant must be the senior author and the paper must represent original work of the applicant. Please include a copy of the paper if it is not yet published or readily available. Recent recipients include Michael Beran, Kimberly Christian, Nichole Avena, Bradley Sturz, Holly Miller, Fabián Soto, and Ethan Kross. Please note that nonmembers may apply for Division 6 membership at the time of their nomination.
The Clifford T. Morgan Distinguished Service to Division 6 Award recognizes members of Division 6 who have made sustained and exceptional contributions to the Division in both scholarly work and service. Recent recipients include Karen Hollis, Nancy Dess, Sangeeta Panicker, Eric Wiertalak, Chana Akins, Gordon Burghardt, and Mary Cain. 
The following Awards are selected by editorial boards, and thus nominations are not necessary:
The Frank A. Beach Comparative Psychology Award is given each year to recognize the best paper published in Journal of Comparative Psychology – as selected by the Editor and Consulting Editors of the journal.
The D. G. Marquis Behavioral Neuroscience Award is given each year to recognize the best paper published in Behavioral Neuroscience – as selected by the Editor and Consulting Editors of the journal.

No comments:

Post a Comment